Author Topic: MLTA (A better house protection)  (Read 34145 times)

Offline Voon Ho

• Civilian
MLTA (A better house protection)
« on: June 03, 2011, 12:24:49 AM »
A lot of people heard about MRTA right?
Has anyone came across MLTA (Mortgage Level Term Assurance) before?
It's a house protection offered by Great Eastern (I'm an agent there, and proud to be)
Does anyone actually know the difference? (hahaha im kind of challenging u guys)

Offline venven81

• Knight
    • Prudential. Your One Stop Financial Centre.
Re: MLTA (A better house protection)
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2011, 12:00:04 PM »
One can always opt for ILP as MRTA/MLTA replacement. Why? Simple.
1. The coverage is LEVEL throughout the whole tenure. MRTA coverage reduces over time.
2. It covers critical illness. Both MRTA and MLTA don't. In other words, ILP provides more comprehensive coverage.
3. ILP is transferable. For e.g. once you have fully settled the loan for House A and you'd like to buy House B, you can always transfer the ILP purchased for House A to House B at the same premium because you purchased the first ILP at younger age.
4. Say after 30 years, you have finished servicing the housing loan, what you get is:
   (i) a house. the one that you purchased, and
   (ii) another house. "what do you mean?" well, with the cash value in your ILP, its value is similar to you having another house but in a better form,  cash.

have a thought and see whether this is a better option for you or not. cheers.
Prudential for your protection & investment needs

Offline Salahdin

• Companion of Honour
  • Sharing is Divine. Keeping is Bovine.
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2011, 09:08:26 AM »
VenVen,

From the angle of 'Cost', is MLTA far more expensive than MRTA?  What if I uses Life policy tocover my house instaed of MLTA.  Is it advisable to do that?  Thanks.
The worst way of learning is to keep all the knowledge to yourself.  So, share it to others as they would to you.

Regards;